Global Launch of Waste Wise Cities Tool

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Global Launch of Waste Wise Cities Tool

February 2 @ 12:00 CET

In our rapidly urbanizing world that features mostly unsustainable consumption and production patterns, addressing solid waste management and plastic pollution is becoming more pressing than ever before. However, reliable data and information on municipal solid waste generation and management is lacking globally, especially in cities in low- and middle-income countries. This lack of data hinders the development of sustainable solid waste management strategies and constrains investment in infrastructure and service expansion, leading in many countries to insufficient or absent municipal solid waste management services.
As a reply, UN-Habitat with support from the Urban Pathways project has developed the Waste Wise Cities Tool: Step by Step Guide to Assess City Municipal Solid Waste Management Performance through SDG 11.6.1 Indicator Monitoring. SDG indicator 11.6.1 quantifies parameters that will help cities and countries to better manage resources, mitigate and prevent environmental pollution, create business, employment and livelihood opportunities, and shift towards a circular economy.

At this event UN-Habitat, together with our prominent partners, will launch the Waste Wise Cities Tool and discuss how this tool can help tackle the global crisis of waste management and plastic pollution.

Please register here.

This event will take place on February 02.2021 at 12pm CET (2pm EAT and 11am GMT).

After the Launch of the Waste Wise Cities Tool we offer a training on the 3rd and 4th of February for members of Waste Wise Cities and African Clean Cities Platform. Not yet a member? Then join us. Afterwards you can register here for the training.